West Valley Medical Center Auxiliary has announced the recipients of this year's Auxiliary Scholarships totaling $6,000. The local students, who have all been volunteers at West Valley in the past, received scholarships to help cover the costs of their education in the medical field. Congratulations to the following recipients:

  • Mirian Aguilar graduated from Valliview High School and will be attending Boise State University in the fall. Mirain was awarded $1000.
  • Diana Leon graduated from Caldwell High School and will be attending Boise State University in the fall. Diana was awarded $1000.
  • Maella Djoube Fodop is a student at College of Idaho. Maella was awarded $2000.
  • Hannah Maupin graduated from College of Idaho and is attending the physician assistant program at Harding University. Hannah was awarded $2000.

Funds for these scholarships are raised through sales and fundraisers at the West Valley Medical Center Gift Shop (1717 Arlington Ave, Caldwell, Idaho 83605), open to the public Monday-Friday, 9:30am-4:00pm. 

The Auxiliary Scholarship offers two or more scholarship awards to students enrolled in healthcare degree programs, such as nursing, medical technology (lab), medical records, radiology/imaging, respiratory therapy, pharmacy, etc. Scholarship amounts and funding are subject to approval on an annual basis and will be based on committee recommendation. Students who accept scholarships from West Valley Medical Center agree to give the hospital an opportunity to recruit them for employment upon completion of their degree; however, no work commitment is required.

The Auxiliary is a not-for-profit entity. It has a board of directors that is responsible for the day-to-day operations. The board provides the hospital with an organization that can receive donations. Through the operation of the Gift Shop, donations and fundraisers, aside from scholarships, the Auxiliary provides: Newborn care items, hospital equipment, and community projects. 

Pictured in Photo L – R
Mirian Aguilar, Diana Leon, Maella Djoube Fodop
(Not pictured - Hannah Maupin)